《Racing for her love: A Madison Beer fanfiction》Chapter 22 || Hold the line
Advertisement
I'm sitting in my car already. Waiting for the formation lap to start.
Madison leaned into the cockpit and planted a kiss on my forehead.
Buppy, beat em today.
I will baby, enjoy yourself out there from the garage. I 'm still not confident in the race pace, but I will try my best.
Then the grid cleared away, only the 21 other cars were on the grid right now. The clock jumped to 3 PM, and the formation lap started, I accelerated from my grid position.
Alright Y/N, take your time with the warm up, we don't want to wait on the grid for too long.
Copy Jeff.
I weave around the track a bit and try to warm my brakes properly. I notice Tyler behind me going way slower, so I slow down as well.
Tyler in his Mercedes catches up and I accelerate again.
I continue with the formation lap.
I try to let Tyler stay close to me.
I arrive on the starting grid and do a few burn outs to get the dirt and marbles off my tires.
I see Tyler in my mirrors as well.
Okay Y/N line up on the grid.
I angle the nose of my car slightly to the outside to prevent Tyler have a completely easy run on me.
Tyler angles his nose towards the inside of the track and I know what he's thinking.
Y/N, last car is approaching the back of the grid.
I pull my clutches in and rev up to 11000RPM
1 light turns on, suddenly time seems to be in slow motion, no thoughts going through my mind. I feel my heart rate rise.
2, 3, 4, 5 lights on...
And they're out.
I left go of my right clutch and I blast away from my starting position.
I look into my mirror and see Tyler behind me having a decent start. I cover up the inside on turn 1 and force Tyler to take the outside as I'm ahead of him now.
Tyler manages to get side by side with me because he can brake later, but he can't pass as I have the inside line and he yields as there isn't any space on the outside.
Tyler quickly picks himself up again and after the opening lap, he's the one behind me again.
In the first few laps, I manage to get away from Tyler as he tries to save his tires. But then the race pace of the Mercedes became clear and before I knew it, I had Tyler right behind me. He tried to pass me, but he couldn't find his way past yet.
Soon, the pitstop phase started to begin and I finally got into my pitstop window.
Did Tyler see anything about his pit window Jeff?
His pace is improving Y/N, he'll come in this lap.
Then we commit to plan A.
Copy Y/N.
Plan A was basically pit on the same lap as Tyler.
I make my way to the pitlane and I see Tyler in my mirror do the same.
I drive into my box, hold the clutch and accelerate out once my new tires were on.
Advertisement
I look into my mirror and see Tyler still in my mirror
And you're a second ahead of Tyler, one second.
I drive out of the pitlane and the pitlimiter get's turned off. I accelerate away.
Watch the tires Y/N, warm them up steadily.
Copy that.
On the fresh tires I pull a gap from Tyler, to about 7 seconds but soon enough, he appears behind me again.
And the gap is only 4 seconds now Y/N, 30 laps remaining. He's gaining a second per lap mate.
I know that I needed a miracle to win.
I went through the last hairpin and just passed the pitlane when suddenly Jeff came on the radio.
SAFETY CAR, SAFETY CAR Y/N
Fuck, why?
Norris has gone off at turn 8, stay on the right side and watch debris.
Jeff... Is Tyler coming in?
Yes Y/N, he is...
Oh that's absolutely lovely.
Before I knew it, Tyler was behind me on fresh mediums.
And lapped cars may now overtake Y/N.
We drove 5 laps behind the safety car, but there it's basically Tyler's race to lose at this point...
I warmed my hard compound as best as I could, but Tyler on his fresh mediums just has more grip.
The lights of the safety car turned off, meaning that it's coming into the pitlane again.
Safety car ending Y/N, watch your pace as we lead the field.
I know what I had to do, get a gap as big as possible to get away from Tyler.
I rotated onto the main straight and accelerated hard, nearly clipping the outside wall.
Tyler tried to follow but he got more oversteer, giving me around 1.5 seconds to play with.
But it took him only a lap to close the gap.
And suddenly, he was all over my ass, trying to look for a gap to get passed. But it isn't easy to pass here.
Try and hold your line as much as possible Y/N.
I did, Tyler darted from side to side, trying to force me into a lock up, but I held my ground.
I increased my own pace, I haven't pushed this hard the entire race to conserve the tires as much as possible
15 laps remaining, 15 laps remaining Y/N
Fuck off, where's Tyler? I didn't want to take my eye of the track for a second.
He's 7 tenths behind Y/N.
7 tenths was just enough to stop him from overtaking me with DRS on the main straight.
We approached turn 9 and Tyler was desperate to get passed, as his tires started to wear more from the higher pace.
Suddenly the flag LEDs on my wheel started to light yellow, something has happened.
TYLER HAS GONE OFF Y/N, SAFETY CAR, SAFETY CAR
I didn't believe what I heard and looked in my mirror, I saw Tyler's car buried under the tire wall.
I then knew I had the chance to pit for new tires
Box, box, box, for fresh softs.
I went into the pitlane, but I knew that my biggest rival for the race was out, now it was my race to lose.
Advertisement
I then rejoined the track, still in P1, with Leclerc P2, but he wasn't a danger for me.
We drove passed Tyler's wrecked Merc and he was sitting with the marshalls.
Is Tyler okay?
Yes Y/N, Tyler is okay, just trying to process what happened.
The incident was cleared and only 3 laps were remaining.
I pushed as hard as I could, leaving Leclerc behind me as far as possible.
Y/N, watch out please, it's not worth pushing this hard, we already have the fastest lap. It's not gonna bring us anything...
But satisfaction, that's what matters. As I went 2 seconds faster on my penultimate lap for the fastest lap of the race.
I entered the final lap and suddenly I realised that I was about to win the Grand Prix, I cleanly got through the last few corners and saw the chequered flag being waved.
Y/N YOU ARE A GRAND PRIX WINNER AND YOU TOOK A GRAND SLAM WITH IT, WHAT A RACE MATE.
YESSSS BOYS, LET'S FUCKING GOOO
Mega mega drive Y/N, pole position, led every lap and fastest lap, what a result there.
I drove the inlap slowly back to the pits while waving to the crowd, it felt unreal for me.
And park the car in parc ferme Y/N.
I park the car behind the P1 board and turn the car off, the adrenaline slowly faded a bit and I realised how much energy this race had costed me.
I turned the car off, undid my seatbelt and headrest, took my wheel off, opened my visor and climbed out of the car.
I raised my arms up in celebration and it felt like everyone was cheering for me.
Max walked towards me, gave me a high five and a pat on the helmet.
Then I spotted Madison and my team. I sprinted towards them and they all cheered while catching me.
Madison filmed it all and was crying out of joy.
They were all screaming and I couldn't make anything of what they said.
I then walked towards Madison and she gave me a kiss on my helmet.
She said something but I couldn't hear it.
I then undid my helmet, balaclava and gloves and received a Pirelli P1 hat. A cold bottle of water was ready for me.
I unscrewed the cap and slowly drank it away.
David Coulthard was there for the interviews.
Y/N, come here lad, this must be a day to remember for you, tell us what's going through you right now.
I walked towards DC.
It's honestly amazing, you know, arriving into the weekend, I was concerned if we even were podium contenders right now, but yeah, to be here to set pole and win the race is honestly unbelievable.
Did you change anything to the setup or some other secret thing we don't know about?
No, we were considering starting from pitlane and rebuilding the whole setup, but yeah, everything went perfect today.
Your defended hard against Tyler, with a duel that almost looked like a replica of what Senna and Mansell did in Monaco, 1992.
Yeah obviously, Tyler was really on it today, the Mercs showed supreme pace today, but unfortunately he didn't finish it. I'm looking forward to more duels with them.
Max (P2) and Charles (P3) did their interviews and then it was time for the podium ceremony.
Charles and Max had to go first.
A man with a megaphone hyped the crowd up even more
And now ladies and gentlemen, our latest race winner, please welcome, Y/N Y/L/N
I walked into the podium, waving and taking the moment into me. I then made a heart symbol infront of the Porsche badge on my overall and climbed onto the top step.
And here's the national anthem of our winner and the winning constructor.
Hearing my national anthem play made me realise what I had truly done, I fucking won the Grand Prix, I'm one step closer to my ultimate dream. Now even I felt a tear drop off my own cheek.
The German anthem started playing for Porsche as they were the team that won today.
The German anthem finished and now it was time for the next podium tradition, the trophies.
Richard Petty aka the King, one of the best NASCAR drivers awarded me the P1 trophy
Congratulations Y/N, more to get.
That meant so much to me, I nodded and smiled. He then handed me the trophy and I lifted it with a loud cheer from the crowd.
Jeff Gordon, another NASCAR driver, handed the trophy to Michael Pieslinger, my main strategist, he got to take the trophy for the constructors.
Both Max and Charles got their trophies and now... It was time for the champagne shower.
I grabbed the bottle of champagne and sprayed it all over Michael, giving him a well worthy shower.
After the shower, I just had to take a moment what had happened, I went to sit down on the top step, looking over the pitlane and over my team, Michael and Charles left so it was only Max and me sitting.
You've done it man, at 18 years and 17 days old, you are a Grand Prix winner unbelievable.
I know Max, I'm still struggling to believe it.
Max gave me a pat on the shoulder and we both went back to the team.
I'm honestly so tired, looking forward to seeing Madison, she sprinted towards me.
My buppyyyyyyy, you've fucking done it.
She jumped into my arms and gave me multiple kisses.
I then saw Tyler, he was still upset, so I walked towards him and tapped him on the shoulder.
Hey man, solid race, you really pushed me there.
You too, congratulations, you defended like a champ. Next time I'll try and give you an even harder run for your money.
I'll see you appear behind me sometime again.
He smirked softly.
See you next race Y/N.
See you next race, Tyler.
Madison and I both went to my private room so I could change clothes for the interviews.
Advertisement
- In Serial71 Chapters
This Gift I Was Given (The Boys That Lives In My House)
My name is Jess Taylor, I haven't had the easiest life I lost both my parents in a car crash, I even died for a couple minutes. Maybe because I lost both my parents or because I died for those couple of minutes, I had a mental breakdown and ended up in a mental hospital for awhile.After I got out we ended up moving to a new town trying to make a fresh start, that's where I learned I could talk to ghost. The time I lived in the cane street house was the best and one of the many worst times of my life.I made friends and I met Luke who became the love of my life but just like everything, it ended and Luke went into the light.Me and my aunt Lora moved to a new town trying to make another fresh start but this town has secrets too even darker ones. I'm trying to embrace my new gift and help ghost move on, I'm still pretty new at all this ghost stuff but I'm trying. Maybe this is the town for me it seems like everyone has a secret here.A SEQUEL TO THE BOY WHO LIVES IN MY HOUSE
8 81 - In Serial13 Chapters
Classy (LGBTQIA+)
Sara was well acquainted with life on the streets - however, she was not used to being talked to. To most she was nothing, a nobody - just a homeless person. Not worth anything. Not human. That was until she met Sophie.
8 82 - In Serial47 Chapters
Get Pucked
The plan has always been simple. Finish college and open my own bakery while supporting my best friend in his journey to the NHL.After a not-so-good experience last year, I've been avoiding most of the hockey team. That is until I finally met their newest teammate whose green eyes have been stuck in my brain ever since. Did I mention he's also my best friend's roommate?
8 109 - In Serial46 Chapters
Dear MinYoongi || myg [COMPLETED]
not just a diary. a diary for someone special ❤
8 165 - In Serial47 Chapters
Allure.
Savannah had everything she had ever wanted.She had just graduated law school, been offered an associates position and had the most amazing friends she could wish for. Her life was perfect.... Until she meet Ryker King.Ryker was not Savannah's type at all. He was a rough bad boy biker with a shady past but she couldn't help but be drawn to him.Will his allure keep Savannah's attention and will something grow from their intense attraction?
8 164 - In Serial48 Chapters
데뷔 || Debut
"Is it true you're dating the rapper Min Suga?" The reporter came up to me."I have no reason to answer you're question.""Our group is Dreamlike we are different groups and if you will be interviewing us to get information on them we are not interested."A new girl group rises in the midst of the korean boy band BTS highest peak.This group is the first girl group after years that BigHit has allowed. Will it be for the better or for the worst? A story of a worldwide idol and a rookie idol falling in love and finding themselves.Maknae Line:Bang Sun-hee- Maknae, Main Vocal - 2002Jeon Hee-jin- Main Dancer, Vocalist -2001Unnie Line:Kim Doyeon- Dancer, Vocal, Visual - 1999Y/n - Main Rapper, Dance, Leader - 1999Choi Yuju - Rapper, Vocal, Center -1997Updated Once a week
8 202

